top of page
  • Writer's pictureTania Cucciniello

Healing your Chakras with Reiki Massage

What is Reiki?

Reiki, pronounced ray-key, is the Japanese word meaning "universal life force". This life force is an energy which is found in all living things, from people to plants and animals, connecting us all as one. Reiki helps restore balance of energy where it is needed in the mind and the body. Since energy is electromagnetic in nature, placing the hands over the chakra energy locations activates a frequency which transfers from the Reiki practitioner to the client to improve the body's natural ability to heal. The frequency is unique to each person and the level of acceptance that the person allows. Healing through Reiki is a natural, gentle, non-invasive approach which reduces stress and increases vitality.

What are chakras?

If Reiki restores the energy in chakras, then you might be wondering: what is a chakra? Pronounced chaa-kruh, it is the Sanskrit word meaning "wheel" or "wheels", representing wheels of energy or wheels of light. These wheels are the centers in the body responsible for our physical, emotional, mental and spiritual well-being. There are 7 main chakras that run along the spine, front and back. The chakras regulate the flow of subtle energy in the body and can be scanned by the Reiki practitioner to determine if they are balanced or imbalanced. The 7 main chakras are:

1st chakra: Root Chakra

Location: at the base of the pelvic floor between the coccyx, pubic bone and sitting bones

Energy: projects downward

Color: this chakra is associated with red, meaning eating foods that are red, wearing the color red or envisioning red during a meditation can all be used to balance the chakra, if and when needed. These tools can also be applied to each of the following chakras and their associated colors.

2nd chakra: Sacral Chakra

Location: the sacrum

Energy: front and back

Color: orange

3rd chakra: Solar Plexus Chakra

Location: just above the navel at the level diaphragm

Energy: front to back

Color: yellow

4th chakra (or wheel): Heart Chakra

Location: at the center of the chest embodying the heart

Energy: front and back

Color: green (sometimes pink)

5th chakra: Throat Chakra

Location: the throat

Energy: front and back

Color: blue

6th chakra: Third Eye Chakra

Location: at the brow, between the eyes

Energy: front and back

Color: indigo or dark purple

7th chakra: Crown Chakra

Location: at the top of the head

Energy: projecting up

Color: light violet

What happens during a Reiki session?

A Reiki session begins with an open dialogue between the client and the practitioner, as it would with your massage therapist, osteopath or naturopath. During this time, physical symptoms, pain, emotional events and everyday stressors are described. Each trauma, injury or negative emotion being expressed helps the practitioner to know which of the chakras are involved and which ones need balancing.

The Reiki session then begins with the client lying face up and fully clothed on a massage table. The practitioner then proceeds to scan the 7 main chakras and will stop at the level that needs attention. The same scan and attention is then performed on the back-side when the person turns over to lie down on their stomach.

There are certain energies you may feel during a session, either felt by both parties or just person or the other. Sensations such as warmth, cold, tingling or sweating may be felt as the practitioner stops to balance a certain chakra. Gurgling sounds from your stomach may be heard. Pain and inflammation can be felt leaving the body. Some people may even have spiritual visualizations of colors, numbers, angels or past experiences during Reiki. These are all perfectly normal and necessary as a part of the healing process.

Reiki healing health benefits:

A main belief in Reiki is that you must address the issue at hand if you truly want to heal. The benefits of acknowledging and embracing the problem is the best approach to cleanse it. The major health benefits from Reiki include:

  • Reduces blood pressure

  • Releases stress in the mind and tension in the body

  • Accelerates the body's self-healing abilities

  • Cleanses the body from toxins

  • Supports the immune system

  • Increases vitality and energy levels

  • Balances the organs and their functions

  • Promotes better sleep

  • Treats the root cause of illness

  • Emotional clearing

  • Raises the vibration frequency of the body

  • Helps spiritual growth

If you believe that Reiki is the right therapy for you, I encourage you to make an appointment with my professional associate Pina Vizzi, certified Reiki Master, Teacher and founder of Reiki-Balance in Montreal. She is attentive, caring and always extremely accurate in defining which chakras need to be re-balanced. For all bookings please visit

For more information about Reiki & the chakras, check out The Body Blog's Energy Healing board on Pinterest.

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page